Sicilian Serenity: A Journey of Yoga & Transformation with Chrissy Gonzalez

Your TourHero

Hero Chrissy Gonzalez

Chrissy is a Los Angeles based yoga teacher, vegan foodie, writer, travel junkie and animal lover. The onset of her love affair with yoga over twenty years ago set in motion an active practice that has allowed her to guide others for over a decade. Her formal training began in 2002 with Yoga Works in Los Angeles. She has since completed over 1000 hours of Yoga Alliance Certified training under the guidance of her teachers Joan Hyman, Jeanne Heileman and many others. She stays busy teaching alignment based classes and workshops flowing with harmonious movement, yoga philosophy and a positive outlook. She also leads workshops, training and yoga retreats all over the world. In addition to teaching yoga classes, She loves to cook, write, travel the world and work with animal rescues and shelters. She founded 'The Yoga Pawject', a non-profit that helps raise money for animals in need.

Duration

7 days · 6 nights

Travel Date

Sep 9 - 15, 2024

Activity Level

Moderate

Group Size

13

Transportation

Group airport & activity transfers

Tour Price

USD 3,404
/ person
USD 680 deposit only
3 spots left
This trip is getting booked faster than expected. Secure your spot before it’s sold out!

Your Fellow Explorers

Age range

21+

Travel interest

Yoga & wellness, food & culture, beaches, relaxation

Fellow Travelers

10
 total travelers
GarretJoyJuliaChristyDorineAdrienneKaraShaylaKaraIngrid

Your Local Guide

Ertha Logo

A division of Europe Incoming, a DMC with more than four decades of experience under their belt, Ertha is a company that centers itself around trips that help travelers attain a true feeling of wellness. If your goal is to relax and recharge in a gorgeous setting, they are here to help! Yoga retreats, spa trips, quiet vacations in iconic locations – no matter what you’re looking for, Ertha can help design a customized trip that matches your exact needs.

Italy>Sicilian Serenity: A Journey of Yoga & Transformation with Chrissy Gonzalez

“Italy is a dream that keeps returning for the rest of your life.” Anna Akhmatova

Join me for a 6 night and 7 day cultural yoga retreat in the southern coastal region of Ragusa, Sicily. Located just minutes away from the crystal clear blue waters of the Mediterranean sea, this retreat center will fulfill all your Italian lifestyle dreams. Here, we will slow down a bit, embrace the culture, explore baroque archeological sites, eat authentic Sicilian food made with love, take leisurely strolls in local towns and beaches, and of course, practice yoga daily in an open air yoga shala with the ocean breeze caressing our skin. You will leave feeling inspired, rejuvenated and deeply fulfilled. Each morning will start with an invigorating yoga class that focuses on a different theme. We will then sit together for a nourishing breakfast, followed by free time spent by the pool, local beach or town, or going on group adventures. After a light lunch, we will reunite for a soothing evening class, allowing us to fully absorb all the beauty, colors and flavors of Sicily. We will end with a delicious dinner under the stars, leaving us completely nourished and relaxed. This bucket list yoga retreat is what dreams are made of.

Cancellation policy

TourHero, the retreat host, and the tour operator reserve the right to cancel or reschedule this trip up until June 6, 2024. If the departure is canceled out of your control, you will be alerted by this date and will receive a full refund.

In this case, TourHero is not responsible for your preparation expenses, such as airline tickets, extra accommodations, loss of work, or any other cost associated with preparing for your trip. We recommend booking travel insurance, along with refundable flights/accommodations in case of cancellation.

Refunds for deposits
We will hold your spot as soon as you put down your deposit. However, if you decide to cancel your trip, we will be unable to refund your deposit.

Refunds for fully-paid trips
You may change or cancel your trip up until June 6, 2024 for a refund, excluding the deposit amount. After this time, no refunds will be given. You can change or cancel your trip in your TourHero account by clicking on Your Trips.

Trip cancellation due to COVID-19
A full credit will be issued if the tour is canceled when there is full border closure due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. This credit can go towards booking a future TourHero tour. We suggest buying your own travel insurance for coverage of cancellations within 30 days of the tour commencing for reasons other than a full tour cancellation.

Your TourHero

Hero Chrissy Gonzalez

Chrissy is a Los Angeles based yoga teacher, vegan foodie, writer, travel junkie and animal lover. The onset of her love affair with yoga over twenty years ago set in motion an active practice that has allowed her to guide others for over a decade. Her formal training began in 2002 with Yoga Works in Los Angeles. She has since completed over 1000 hours of Yoga Alliance Certified training under the guidance of her teachers Joan Hyman, Jeanne Heileman and many others. She stays busy teaching alignment based classes and workshops flowing with harmonious movement, yoga philosophy and a positive outlook. She also leads workshops, training and yoga retreats all over the world. In addition to teaching yoga classes, She loves to cook, write, travel the world and work with animal rescues and shelters. She founded 'The Yoga Pawject', a non-profit that helps raise money for animals in need.

Duration

7 days · 6 nights

Travel Date

Sep 9 - 15, 2024

Activity Level

Moderate

Group Size

13

Transportation

Group airport & activity transfers

Italy>Sicilian Serenity: A Journey of Yoga & Transformation with Chrissy Gonzalez

“Italy is a dream that keeps returning for the rest of your life.” Anna Akhmatova

Join me for a 6 night and 7 day cultural yoga retreat in the southern coastal region of Ragusa, Sicily. Located just minutes away from the crystal clear blue waters of the Mediterranean sea, this retreat center will fulfill all your Italian lifestyle dreams. Here, we will slow down a bit, embrace the culture, explore baroque archeological sites, eat authentic Sicilian food made with love, take leisurely strolls in local towns and beaches, and of course, practice yoga daily in an open air yoga shala with the ocean breeze caressing our skin. You will leave feeling inspired, rejuvenated and deeply fulfilled. Each morning will start with an invigorating yoga class that focuses on a different theme. We will then sit together for a nourishing breakfast, followed by free time spent by the pool, local beach or town, or going on group adventures. After a light lunch, we will reunite for a soothing evening class, allowing us to fully absorb all the beauty, colors and flavors of Sicily. We will end with a delicious dinner under the stars, leaving us completely nourished and relaxed. This bucket list yoga retreat is what dreams are made of.

Timeline

Details

Day 1 · September 9, 2024

Welcome to Sicily – get settled at your beautiful retreat space and come together for yoga and dinner

Discover the perfect blend of relaxation and rejuvenation as you join us for a transformative wellness retreat in the heart of Sicily. Your journey begins the moment you touch down at Catania Airport, where a group transfer will whisk you away to the idyllic Mangiabove Guest House for your check-in. Take some time to settle in and explore your surroundings during your free time.

As the sun dips below the horizon, we’ll come together for an evening practice focused on hips and lower back – ideal for releasing any tension from your travels. Finally, we’ll unite as a community at our Welcome Circle with dinner to follow, providing the opportunity to connect with fellow participants and set intentions for the days ahead. Sit back, relax, and let the peace and tranquility flow.

Day 2 · September 10, 2024

Open your heart and your mind with yoga sessions, free time, and delicious Italian fare

Awaken to the serenity of Sicilian mornings with our Open Heart and Open Mind practice, a class designed to help you fully embrace the sweet pleasures of Italian life. After setting your intentions for the day, delight in a nourishing breakfast that will fuel your soul.

The rest of the morning and afternoon offer you ample free time to indulge in leisure activities that resonate with you. Whether you choose to unwind with a massage, explore the charming property, venture into town, or stroll along the beach, the choice is yours. A delicious lunch will be provided to keep your energy up for the rest of the day's adventures.

As evening descends, we'll reconvene for our Love Language session – a deep Yin practice targeted at releasing tension from the shoulders and upper back, further opening our hearts. To cap off the day, you have the option of enjoying a dinner in town, giving you a taste of local Sicilian flavors (not included in the retreat price). Embrace joy and release what no longer serves you in paradise.

Day 3 · September 11, 2024

Explore your inner landscape, along with the outer world, on a half-day tour from Ragusa to Ragusa Ibla

Start your day with an invigorating early morning practice that teaches the art of being truly present through Drishti, Breathwork, and posture alignment – just the right preparation for our first group excursion.

After a hearty breakfast, we'll embark on a half-day guided tour from Upper Ragusa to Ragusa Ibla, where we'll delve into the richness of archaeology, Baroque culture, and Fascist architecture. It's a unique opportunity to explore and appreciate the diverse layers of Sicilian history. Upon returning to the retreat, a delicious lunch awaits you, followed by leisurely free time to spend as you wish.

As the day winds down, our evening practice will be a slow and stretchy flow designed to shift your mindset from one of scarcity to abundance. It's a heartfelt reminder to appreciate the life we have. The day concludes with a sumptuous dinner, offering yet another opportunity to savor the flavors of Sicily. Soak in every single moment.

Day 4 · September 12, 2024

Movement, adventure, peace, and cooking anchor another beautiful day in Sicily

RIse and shine with a revitalizing morning practice designed to nourish both body and mind. Our twisty flow class, infused with enriching breathwork, sets the stage for a peaceful meditation session.

Following this invigorating start, a delicious breakfast will be served to fuel your day. Enjoy ample free time afterward, whether you wish to unwind with a massage, or seek adventure in the beautiful surroundings. A scrumptious lunch breaks up the day before another round of free time beckons you to relax or explore.

As evening falls, we’ll gather again for a Peace and Calm Yin class, expertly tailored to release tension from the larger muscle groups in the legs. Finally, immerse yourself in the local culinary culture with a group cooking class and dinner featuring ‘Pasta Cavati with Norma Sauce.’ Mangia!

Day 5 · September 13, 2024

Find joy in our daily practices and free time

Embrace the day with our uplifting Morning Practice that will encourage us to find joy through play. This engaging class will focus on balance work, featuring arm balances and inversions, with modifications offered for all levels. Energize your body and spirit, then savor a scrumptious breakfast to keep the good vibes going.

The day continues with either free time to relax or an optional excursion to explore The Upside Down Hill through a Cava Misericordia Trekking Tour in Ragusa, an unforgettable journey into the natural beauty of Sicily. (See add-ons for pricing and more information.) A mouth-watering lunch awaits you upon your return, giving you the perfect mid-day break before an afternoon of free time to do as you please.

As the sun sets, we'll come together for a sumptuous dinner, followed by a Yoga Nidra session to guide you into a deep state of relaxation. Be present, follow your heart, and enjoy the art of youthful play.

Day 6 · September 14, 2024

One final day in Sicily boasts movement, relaxation, and peace

Step into a transformative day with our enlightening Morning Practice focused on resiliency where we’ll get comfortable with discomfort. This challenging session aims to change your relationship with struggle, nudging you toward new boundaries and growth.

After engaging your body and mind, refuel with a hearty breakfast before choosing to either relax or explore. A delicious lunch awaits you, offering the perfect midday pause before an afternoon of leisure.

As the sun dips below the horizon, prepare for our Evening Practice that will focus on letting go. This deeply restorative yoga class will help you release physical and mental tension, creating space for new beginnings. We'll conclude the day with a delectable dinner, setting the stage for communal connections and heartfelt conversations. We say our goodbyes tomorrow, so make this last day count.

Day 7 · September 15, 2024

Say goodbye to Sicilian experiences and hello to a fresh perspective on life

As our transformative time together in Sicily draws to a close, we’ll come together for a final Morning Practice, giving us an opportunity to reflect on the growth and insights gained during our retreat. Afterward, experience an emotional and uplifting Closing Circle, where we'll consolidate our collective experiences and set intentions for the journey ahead. From here, we’ll enjoy one last meal, check out of the retreat, and head to the airport.

Thank you for sharing this incredible journey with us. May the insights and friendships you've gained enrich your life long after you've returned home. Safe travels and be well!

Accommodation

  • Mangiabove Guest House (or similar according to availability)

    Mangiabove Guest House, in vibrant Sicily, is a beautifully restored farmhouse just minutes from the golden sands of Marina di Ragusa's pristine beaches and World Heritage historical sites. Emphasizing a profound connection with its natural surroundings, the guest house is situated on a natural terrace, where the old stables have been thoughtfully transformed into distinct apartments. Each apartment reflects the rich history of the site while incorporating contemporary amenities. All guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout the property, an infinity pool with chromotherapy, a common room featuring a library and book-crossing service, and free private parking.

    For those seeking the comforts of home, Mangiabove offers room service breakfast on request, a coffee bar, a small food shop selling local delicacies, and a communal outdoor kitchen with a barbecue. Guests are provided a storage facility and can immerse themselves in the vibrant local culture and stunning landscapes, with close proximity to endless golden beaches, nature reserves, archaeological sites, and a myriad of cultural and artistic events in the area. At Mangiabove, guests are at the heart of an authentic Sicilian experience. Room type: Double and single occupancy. Room configuration: Twin beds.

Included

  • 6 nights at Mangiabove Guest House
  • Double & single occupancy in accommodation
  • All meals
  • 1 group arrival airport transfer
  • 1 group departure airport transfer
  • Daily yoga sessions & workshops with Chrissy
  • Yoga equipment (mats, straps, bolsters, blocks, blankets)
  • Ragusa excursion
  • Cooking class
  • Relaxing massage

Not included

  • Flights
  • All food & drink not mentioned in itinerary
  • Personal expenses not stipulated
  • Optional add-ons
  • Gratuities

FAQ

What happens if I need to cancel my trip?

Please check the cancellation policy section on this itinerary page for specific details.

Will TourHero or the operator take care of my visa (if applicable)?

Travelers are responsible for researching visa requirements and obtaining a visa if needed. Please check government websites to ensure you have the necessary documents, along with passport requirements, before your departure date. This includes necessary transit visas, permits, and vaccinations required prior to travel and any required reciprocity fees for the destination. TourHero will provide a booking confirmation document after purchase, which may be needed to obtain a visa.

If your visa is denied for any reason, TourHero will issue a refund based on the cancellation policy. However, we are unable to provide a refund after the cancellation due date has passed.

Do I need a passport for this trip?

A full and valid passport is required for all persons traveling to any destination outside of one’s home country. Most international tours require a passport that's valid for at least six (6) months beyond the scheduled end of your itinerary. TourHero will not issue refunds based on passport issues such as renewals or lost passports.

What's included in the price?

Please check the inclusion and exclusion sections above. You'll find information about included meals, transfers, flights, and activities. If you have any questions or need support, please contact hello@tourhero.com.

Available add-on

Private room upgrade

Looking for more privacy? Upgrade to a single room for the duration of the retreat.

Price: USD 755

Sold out

Mangiabove Guest House

The upside downhill – Cava Misericordia trekking tour in Ragusa

This 4 to 5-hour tour offers a unique experience of exploring the rugged beauty of the region. Guests will hike through the captivating Cava Misericordia, a canyon-like landscape, witnessing stunning views while navigating challenging terrains both uphill and downhill. Please note: The itinerary is 6km (3.73 miles) and includes transport to and from the site.

Price: USD 182

7 spots left

The upside downhill – Cava Misericordia trekking tour in Ragusa

Cancellation policy

TourHero, the retreat host, and the tour operator reserve the right to cancel or reschedule this trip up until June 6, 2024. If the departure is canceled out of your control, you will be alerted by this date and will receive a full refund.

In this case, TourHero is not responsible for your preparation expenses, such as airline tickets, extra accommodations, loss of work, or any other cost associated with preparing for your trip. We recommend booking travel insurance, along with refundable flights/accommodations in case of cancellation.

Refunds for deposits
We will hold your spot as soon as you put down your deposit. However, if you decide to cancel your trip, we will be unable to refund your deposit.

Refunds for fully-paid trips
You may change or cancel your trip up until June 6, 2024 for a refund, excluding the deposit amount. After this time, no refunds will be given. You can change or cancel your trip in your TourHero account by clicking on Your Trips.

Trip cancellation due to COVID-19
A full credit will be issued if the tour is canceled when there is full border closure due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. This credit can go towards booking a future TourHero tour. We suggest buying your own travel insurance for coverage of cancellations within 30 days of the tour commencing for reasons other than a full tour cancellation.

USD 3,404
Per person